Board of Health

The Board of Health of the Licking County Combined General Health District

board of healthLocal Boards of Health are established by Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Chapter 3709 which outlines the powers of the local Boards of Health including nuisance abatement and communicable disease control. Powers and duties of Boards of Health and Health Commissioners are outlined in ORC Chapter 3707.

Local Health Districts are established by ORC Chapter 3709. Each health district is a separate political subdivision, similar to a school district, with an appointed Board of Health. Each district has a Health Commissioner who reports to the Board of Health. There are general health districts (county), city health districts and combined health districts (county and city). There are currently 116 districts in Ohio. The Licking County Health Department serves the Combined General Health District of Licking County, including the cities of Newark, Heath, and Pataskala.

Licking County General Health District Board of Health members are appointed by a District Advisory Council made up of the president of the board of county commissioners, the mayor of each village, the mayors of Newark, Heath, and Pataskala, and the chairman of the board of township trustees of each township in the general health district. The mayors of Newark, Heath, and Pataskala also appoint representatives to the board. Board of Health members serve 5 year terms and are eligible for compensation for attending monthly board meetings of $80.00.
The Board meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 5:30PM in the 3rd floor conference room of the Licking County Health Department.

Board of Health Meeting Minutes

January 2020
February 2020
March 2020
April 2020
May 2020
June 2020
July 2020
August 2020
September 2020
October 2020
November 2020
December 2020

Board Member List

Name Appointed By Year First Appointed Current Term Ends
Neisha Grubaugh (President) District Advisory Council 1999 2024
Gary Wood (Pres. pro tem) District Advisory Council 2009 2022
Mary Billy RN Newark Mayor 2015 2021
Chicky Dyer DC Heath Mayor 2018 2021
Shelly Ellis District Advisory Council 2018 2022
Larry Fiesel District Advisory Council 2014 2024
Vacant District Advisory Council - -
Patrick Scarpitti MD District Advisory Council 1986 2025
Carole Wachtel RN Newark Mayor 2008 2023
John Wetmore District Advisory Council 2018 2023
Kathy Wyatt Pataskala Mayor 2020 2025